Another dot in the blogosphere?

Undoing “Don’t recommend”

Posted on: November 12, 2020

Oops! I accidentally marked a YouTube video I just watched with “Don’t recommend channel” when I meant to label it “Not interested”.

I religiously mark videos that I not interested in to fine-tune YouTube’s recommendations. That is one way I curate my feed. However, the two options are placed one on top of the other, so the accident was bound to happen eventually.

So I looked up how to undo my action. According to this support article, this is an all-or-none activity.

Clear

I followed the instructions and received this warning.

Warning before clearing

I do not see why this setting is such a blunt instrument when one’s viewing history can be deleted video by video. It makes months and years of careful curation disappear thanks to poor user interface design.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

%d bloggers like this: