Another dot in the blogosphere?

Leucocholic learning

Posted on: April 5, 2017

 
I learnt a new word today: Leucocholy. It is a mouthful for something so seemingly trivial.

According to this video segment, leucocholy is “the feeling resulting from being preoccupied by something trivial: not joyful, but easy and pleasant”. This feeling was illustrated by a person scrolling through her Instagram feed.

Merriam-Webster defines leucocholy as “a state of feeling that accompanies preoccupation with trivial and insipid diversions”.

These definitions and the example emphasise the plainness of the task and outcomes. They seem to beg the question: Why bother?

I preoccupy myself by learning constantly. Sometimes the experiences seem like trivialities, other times they seem like paradigm shifts. The two extremes are linked because the small and seemingly disconnected add and link up when I reflect.

It takes time and space to do this. When I worked for someone else full-time, I set aside this time and made the space. Now that I am independent, I do the same. I owe this to myself and to the people who engage me. I owe a lot of what I know to leucocholic learning.

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

