Another dot in the blogosphere?

How I integrate #Padlet

Posted on: February 28, 2017

I started using Padlet when it was the new kid on the block, Wallwisher. [Disclosure: I am not paid to share these thoughts nor do I have a stake in Padlet. I share to care and care to share.]

How I integrate Padlet

The screenshot above is a summary of the different ways I have analysed so far on how I rely on Padlet to facilitate learning during my workshops.

Primers
Primers are brieft and preliminary activities that I get my participants to complete before or at the beginning of my sessions.

KWLQ is short for know, want to know, leart, and questions I still have. I ask participants to complete K and W prior to attending my workshops so that I can gauge their prior knowledge and meet them where they are at.

Sometimes I use Padlet to link lessons and uncover gaps by prompting recall. I ask participants to state one their most important takeaway from the previous session. This invariably leads to a summary of the previous session, and if it is lacking, helps me identify gaps.

If I need to introduce myself and the topic of basic information literacy, I ask participants to Google Me.

If I meet the new group and the session is long, we play two truths and one lie as an ice breaker and to illustrate the importance of learning with and from others.

Advance organisers
This is my only presentation-mode of Padlet. As I can zoom in on each online sticky or highlight one in basic show mode, I occasionally use the notes to state the aims and expectations of my sessions, or to provide reminders on areas to focus on.

It might help to think of this as operating like the table of contents and headers in a book.

Visible learning spaces
This is my favourite integration of Padlet and gets learners the most involved. I might get my participants to:

  • Offer learner-defined outcomes
  • Provide answers to guiding questions to extract concepts from videos
  • Brainstorm ideas and issues related to a skill or content
  • Scaffold a think-pair-share process
  • Reflect at session pitstops

Exit tickets
Of all the tools I have used for exit tickets, Padlet is my favourite for consolidating takeaways in  one-minute papers.

The end of a session is often marked by an urgent need to finish. It is also the best time for participants to remind themselves and report what they learnt. After all, our minds tend to remember starts and ends, but very little of the middle.

All these ideas draw from a common principle: To make thinking visible. I cannot read the minds of my learners, so I get them to externalise their thoughts. As they do this, they will realise what they know, what they think they know, and what they do not. This is also an opportunity to give feedback, to get them to peer teach, or to do both.

1 Response to "How I integrate #Padlet"

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

