Another dot in the blogosphere?

Blog entry plagiarism

Posted on: November 1, 2016

I hope that a particular link does not work by the time you read this. Why? Every now and then someone will copy entire entries from my blog and paste it into their blog without acknowledgement or my permission.

How do I know this happens? Pingbacks.

I received an email notification yesterday that my reflection on the cost of textbooks was pinged in another of my musings about novice teaching mistakes.

Blog post plagiarism.

Screenshots of my blog entry on the left and the copy-and-paste job on the right.

I am choosing not to share the link to the plagiarising blog. Instead I share screenshots of my original and the copy [1] [2].

On visiting that blog, I noticed that it harvested an assortment of posts probably in a bid to get attention, increase its search engine optimisation (SEO), and benefit from ad revenue.

I will be taking steps like contacting the owner to have the copied entry removed, asking Google to counter the copy’s SEO attempt, and notifying the copycat’s web host.

1 Response to "Blog entry plagiarism"

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

