Another dot in the blogosphere?

Keeping tabs

Posted on: August 13, 2016


I pin tabs in Chrome because the pinned sites reflect who I am and the work I do.

My first tab is to Gmail. This is my longer form and more official communication channel after I get initial messages via SMS, Twitter, WhatsApp, Skype, Messenger, Hangouts, etc.

The second tab is Google Calendar. When someone makes an appointment, I set aside some quality time in my calendar. It helps me stay organised and pings me with reminders.

My third pinned tab is a recent tool, Google Keep. I keep reminders and to-do lists there. If I was an assassin, I would have a to-kill list there.

Just kidding, I would use a password-protected Apple Notes tab for that for security. I have this extra pinned tab in my Chromebook because everything else I have is macOS or iOS, and Notes is available as a standalone app on those platforms.

My next tab is Evernote. The company that made Evernote recently limited the app version to just two devices with free accounts, so I only use the app on my iPhone and iPad. All my other devices depend on the web version. I have this tab open right now because I draft blog entries in Evernote instead of WordPress.

The next two tabs are for information-gathering, reading, and sharing. I have Feedly (to manage and update my RSS subscriptions) and Tweetdeck (for Twitter streams). Currently I estimate that I process 300 articles via Feedly and at least 1000 tweets every day. I do not read every article and link because not everything is relevant or important. However, doing this helps me keep my finger on the pulse on what is important to me.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

