Another dot in the blogosphere?

Chromebook peeves & workarounds

Posted on: August 3, 2016

I have been using my Toshiba Chromebook 2 for almost two months. This model is not available in Singapore and I took it off my Amazon wishlist after a year of waiting and reading reviews.

Video source

These were my initial reflections on using it in my first week:

Since then, the Chromebook has accompanied me to a few minor consulting gigs. I use it practically every day that I go to my office, i.e., a library or a coffee joint.

After using it for several weeks, I have a few pet peeves and made some discoveries.

I use 1Password remember and use my passwords. Unfortunately, the makers of 1Password do not plan on making a ChromeOS app.

My workaround was to let the Chrome browser manage some passwords. While this synced the passwords with browsers on my other devices, I still prefer a password management system that is not cloud-dependent.

All-in-One Messenger
I am a macOS and iOS user, so I use the Messages app for texting. I like being able to receive and send Messages on a desktop or laptop while I am working on one instead of reaching for my iPhone.

I am aware that if I used an Android phone, I could use Pushbullet to redirect SMS, but I do not.

I use a Chrome app, All-in-One Messenger, to keep tabs on texts I might receive in WhatsApp, Skype, Facebook Messenger, and Google Hangouts. Unfortunately, Messages is not among them.

The peeves are not deal-breakers, but neither are the workarounds complete solutions.

Chromebooks require compromises, but not necessarily in performance. I appreciate how long the Toshiba’s battery lasts, how good its 1080P screen is, and how it does not lag. The compromises are in utility and that is partly a function of human behaviour. Adapt!

Disclosure: I have not been asked to write about or promote the products mentioned here. I am not paid in any way except with the knowledge that leaving this digital artefact might help someone later on.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

