Another dot in the blogosphere?

What does not travel

Posted on: June 26, 2016

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness. -- Mark Twain.

This warm and fuzzy quote might elicit vigorous nods and stories among those who like to travel.

I like travelling, I nodded when I found and read this quote, and I can tell a travel-related tale if need be. But let us spare a thought for those who do not like to travel.

An acquaintance reminded me of how some folk do not travel well. Her travel mate packed instant noodles and three-in-one coffee in her suitcase.

I can raise that bet. I know of folks who will pack rice cookers and rice. And brag about it. That is their travel tale.

Travel does not guarantee a change in perspective. Organisations that require their workers to go on “learning journeys” often have that change goal in mind. Unfortunately, they underestimate how entrenched people can be. 

Just because the body travels does not mean that the mind and heart do. 

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

