Another dot in the blogosphere?

Setting up VPN for a Chromebook

Posted on: June 12, 2016

This is Part 2 of my first impressions of my new Toshiba Chromebook 2. Read Part 1 here.

I wondered if I could protect myself while using public networks like Wireless@SG. I was not disappointed.

Instructions on how to do this will vary with VPN providers. I use Private Internet Access (PIA) and this is what worked for me.

  1. Get to Chromebook Settings by clicking on your profile (bottom right hand side of screen).
  2. Click on “Add connection”” and then on “OpenVPN / L2TP”.
  3. Fill in the fields in the dialogue box that appears (see screenshot below).
    • See this list of PIA servers for a server hostname.
    • The preshared key is “mysafety”.
    • Your username is not the same as the one generated by PIA. It starts with “x” instead of “p”.
    • Server CA certificate, User certificate, OTP, and Group name can be left default or blank.
  4. Select “Save identity and password” to make it easy to connect to the VPN.
  5. When connected to wifi, click on the “Connect” button.
  6. After a few seconds, you should be connected to the VPN of your choice. Verify this with WhatsMyIPAddress.


  • The list of VPN servers you set up will be listed in your profile menu. Here are examples that I set up in my Chromebook.
  • You can set up as many as you wish by repeating the steps above.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

