Another dot in the blogosphere?

Guide on the side

Posted on: May 31, 2016

Over the next two days, I share two things I do to start and end modules. I start with how I end one. 

I shared this photo yesterday on Twitter

We took a series of shots and all of them feature us in different modes: Mundane, mobile, and mad-cap. The photos covertly illustrate different course designs. I made sure everything was mobile-friendly or even mobile first.

My "ICT for Inclusion" class.

A photo posted by Dr Ashley Tan (@drashleytan) on

I was also not front-and-centre in the photos. I was literally and figuratively the guide on the side. I designed activities where my participants collaborated with and taught one another. 

If I moved to the centre, it was to be the meddler in the middle to stimulate reflection or to help participants rise above. 

I am thankful to my administrative go-between for not only seeking me out via my blog and old TED talk, but also for giving me the freedom to design learning experiences instead of teaching ones. 

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

