Another dot in the blogosphere?

Blasts from the past

Posted on: March 18, 2016

A popular hashtag on Instagram seems to be #tbt, which is short for throwback Thursdays. People share old photos of themselves and tag them #tbt or #tbthursday.

#tbt #tbthursday Scared shitless on the now iconic #Tembusu tree at the #Singapore #BotanicGardens.

A photo posted by Dr Ashley Tan (@drashleytan) on

This was me more than 40 years ago at the Singapore Botanic Gardens. The photo brings back memories — this one was being terrified — but they tend to be faded just like the photo.

The same thing does not seem to happen to a blog though.

One of the nice things about having an edublog is finding out what people are learning from it.

Once a day I check to see what entries people are accessing. Every day I find a nugget that someone else or a group of people decided was useful.

For example, a few days ago I rediscovered something I wrote in 2014, Should tweets be graded? Someone had Googled it and I had forgotten I had even written it.

Occasionally a group decides that an entry is thought-provoking and it will spike my WordPress statistics. This happened recently with a 2013 entry, Security-minded?

This reminded me why I blog fleeting thoughts every day:

  1. I blog to remember because my mind is designed to forget
  2. One of the best ways to learn is to reflect
  3. My blog is a living portfolio
  4. What is old to me is new to someone else
  5. What I share now might help someone else later
  6. I can see how my thoughts have changed, if at all
  7. I learn from my younger self, when I was pushed to think about an issue

Occasionally, someone reads what I write and asks me to do a talk or workshop, or to provide consulting services. So blogging also opens doors.

But that is not the main reason why I blog. The blasts from the past remind me that I want to open up my mind critically to new things and hope others do the same to theirs.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

