Another dot in the blogosphere?

The value of edutweeting

Posted on: January 9, 2016

This tweet provokes an important question.

We want to teach our children to write essays and compose poems. Why do we not teach them how to tweet?

I am not referring to the mechanics of setting up a Twitter account or firing off 140-character salvos. I am referring to responsible and consequential tweeting. 

Responsible tweeting could be guided by these questions (not an exhaustive list):

  • Would you tweet something you would not otherwise say to someone in person? Why or why not?
  • How might my tweet be interpreted some other way?
  • What tone should I use and how do I represent it non-verbally?
  • How important is context, spelling, and grammar?
  • Is there a better way to express myself?
  • What other considerations should I have?

Consequential tweeting is knowing when and how to retweet, quote tweet, comment, direct message, mute, block, or report. It also deals with unintended effects one’s initial tweet.

  • How do I give credit where it is due?
  • How do I promote or add value to a conversation?
  • How might I clarify, critique, or correct?
  • When and how do I create conditions for inclusion or exclusion?
  • When do I take a conversation offline or to private space?
  • How do I deal with a bot, unsolicited advertiser, or troll?

It should become obvious that these skills and values have no fixed standards or end. There is no ultimate checklist to follow or guru to worship. 

It is about constantly learning to learn. That is perhaps the best metalesson about edutweeting. 

3 Responses to "The value of edutweeting"

CHAN Hsiao-yun 曾曉韻: RT @ashley: The value of edutweeting #edsg… via


Kwan Tuck Soon: RT @ashley: The value of edutweeting #edsg… via


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

