Another dot in the blogosphere?

Getting off our 21CC high horse

Posted on: December 5, 2015

I am preparing for a keynote speech that I will deliver next week in the Philippines. I have been asked to share some thoughts about building 21st century competencies (21CCs).

My plan is to ask my audience to tell me what they think 21CCs are. I anticipate that they will provide answers that are similar to any Googleable framework. Once such framework is MOE’s “Swiss roll”.

I will not recommend that my audience bite into the roll wholly and uncritically. After all, our contexts, readiness, and mindsets might be different.

 The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read or write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.

My sources

Instead I will outline three basic approaches based on a quote from Alvin Toffler. I will then suggest what they might need to do in education by learning, unlearning, and relearning.

I am probably going to ruffle some feathers because I am straying from “model” answers. But that is what one organiser expressed as the main reason for inviting me to speak. If you are going through so much trouble to fly me over, why worry about some lost plumage? What century are we living in?

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

