Another dot in the blogosphere?

Split view in iOS9

Posted on: November 7, 2015

I appreciate the slide over and split views in iOS9.

Slide view

Slide over allows me to launch one app and pull up another in a small drawer on the right of my iPad screen. This only works with newer iPads and with applications optimised to do this.
Split view

Split view is a variation of this in that I can make the drawer item take half the page.

When I was reviewing my notes for a workshop yesterday, I could call up Evernote on the left and Safari on the right for that segment of the workshop.

Such multitasking has been the norm for desktop and laptop computers, but this is a milestone for slates. They are no longer devices for single task or serial consumption and can now be taken as devices for serious content review and creation.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

