Another dot in the blogosphere?

Want to hear or need to hear?

Posted on: October 21, 2015

I am too tired to write a long entry today after two days of attending a conference. But I will reflect on one standard that has won me some fans and perhaps lost me some.

I will not let a bad idea stand.

I will be as polite as possible, but if someone stands up (or sits down) and says he or she does not have an educational background BUT still wants to offer advice to educators, I will take that person down if that statement is harmful.

I know that people want to hear things they already agree with or buzzwords that roll nicely off the tongue and resonate with eardrums. People do not want to see disagreement or dissonance. However, discomfort is exactly how we learn.

If we hear something we already know or believe in, we learn nothing. What we already know or believe in is merely reinforced. That is why I would rather let you know what you need to hear.

You might need to know that you do not understand an educational concept. You might need to know that what you are doing does more harm than good in the long run. You might need to know that you are wasting taxpayer money or wasting people’s time.

I need to do this if no one else will. I am not just an educator, I am also a watchdog. I will match my bark with my bite.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

