Another dot in the blogosphere?

Flipping good time (part 1)

Posted on: October 19, 2015

I will be participating in a higher education conference over the next two days.

I look forward to renewing ties with some people that I might only meet at such events. I also hope to make some meaningful impact in the area of flipped learning.

I will be part of a flipped classroom panel today and will offer a presentation on flipped learning tomorrow. It should be obvious that flipping has gained momentum to the extent that the conference organizers have dedicated an entire thread to flipping.

Unfortunately, they have called it a Flipped MOOC. It is not a MOOC and the event is certainly not flipped. Other than being a marketing hook, simply putting two buzzwords together does not make educational or pedagogical sense. At best it gets lots of people attending these sessions; at worst it reinforces buzzwords but does not change practice.

?Sometimes I think, other times I am.? by Lori Greig, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License   by  Lori Greig 

So I have given myself a role in addition to panelist and speaker. It is to be a watchdog. My agenda is to chase down and bite as many misconceptions as possible. I have already spotted “best practices” and “flipped classroom” as unquestioned phrases.

My fur is bristling…

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

