Another dot in the blogosphere?

Homework away from home

Posted on: September 18, 2015

It is no secret that I recently returned from a family vacation to London, UK. We travelled at a slightly unusual time of year to avoid the usual travel crowd at year’s end.

I rented an apartment on Airbnb and loved our “home away from home”.

Just about everything went according to plan. What I did not realize was how much like home life it was going to be when we got there. My son carried workbooks and worksheets in his backpack.

Yes, there was so much vacation homework to do that my son had to bring it along to complete while we were trying to explore and relax.

Do teachers know why homework exists, and we they should or should not dole it out? Are they doing it as a learnt behavior, out of habit, or for fear of parent complaints?

I am not the typical parent in that I do not like to see my child being assigned unnecessary homework (busy work) or poorly designed homework. As a teacher educator, I know the research on homework, e.g., what designs are effective, whether it is effective.

Do teachers have this homework “literacy”? Do they care about the learner and learning? Do they think of the curriculum and exams as the be-alls and end-alls? Do they know of no other way?


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

