Another dot in the blogosphere?

Flipping FAQs 3

Posted on: August 20, 2015

This is the final part of the FAQ on flipping that originated from two seminars I conducted this month. I shared part 1 and part 2 previously.

There are more questions and answers, but it is not meaningful to share all of them here because they are specific to content and context.

These questions were submitted to me via a Google Form before a seminar. Once again, I am simply pasting the answers I provided in our SG Flippers Google+ space. My replies are short partly because I might have addressed the questions during the seminar. Short answers also tend to be incomplete, so that might spark thought and discussion.

time by spapax, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.0 Generic License   by  spapax 

Question: On the average (from your experience), how much time does a student spend on going through the materials before coming to class?

My answer: As little as possible. Even less if they are already hard-pressed for time and if the out-of-class materials are busy work, not what they are passionate about, or otherwise not meaningful to them.

Design so that they have a clear stake in the the process and product.

38/365: Homework by cplong11, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License   by  cplong11 

1. how to ensure that students do their “homework”- ie. readings?
2. when should be good moments for flipping?”

I addressed Q1 during the seminar with two ideas. I reiterate the second: Question the assumptions you have that homework helps. Focus on the different ways they learn.

Q2 is very subjective, i.e., it depends on your experience with the content. But here is what I have found to work across many academic subjects. To flip learning (not the classroom), the greyer the content, the better for flipping. Answers are not so black and white; opinions and suggestions matter.

Addendum: Two instructors caught up with me while I was decompressing at a coffee place after my second seminar. One thing we chatted about was backchannelling as a small way to flip lectures. Here are some things I have written about this topic:

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

