Another dot in the blogosphere?

A living e-portfolio

Posted on: August 13, 2015

I tweeted this recently.

I started my journey as an independent education and technology consultant a year ago. Since then, my blog, Twitter feed, YouTube videos, and other online artefacts have been key to making new connections for me.

This blog, in particular, has provided at least three functions:
1) It is means for people to evaluate what I might have to offer;
2) It has been a repository for me to recall and showcase my work; and
3) It is a way for people to contact me.

I maintain my blog as the main component of a living e-portfolio. It is living because I blog daily and edit other pages regularly. One result of doing this is being listed at or near the top of Google searches on topics that matter to potential clients.

The best thing about maintaining a living e-portfolio is how I do not need to make claims or prove my worth. My work is an open book and visitors can decide if they like what they see and wish to see more in person.
 

Trimming by ragesoss, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License   by  ragesoss 

 
Maintaining a living e-portfolio takes work. But I have found that the process of discipline has become a pleasurable one.

This might be like getting the satisfaction of trimming a bonsai tree. It takes effort and patience, and the results are not always obvious. But over time I learn from the process about the process.

7 Responses to "A living e-portfolio"

CHAN Hsiao-yun 曾曉韻: RT @ashley: A living e-portfolio ashleytan.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/a-l…


via twitter.com

Like

CHAN Hsiao-yun 曾曉韻: RT @ashley: A living e-portfolio goes beyond grades. It can open doors. bit.ly/1h4BNG7 #edsg via twitter.com

Like

Robert Schuetz: RT @ashley: A living e-portfolio goes beyond grades. It can open doors. bit.ly/1h4BNG7 #edsg via twitter.com

Like

Dawana Hug: RT @ashley: A living e-portfolio goes beyond grades. It can open doors. bit.ly/1h4BNG7 #edsg via twitter.com

Like

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

Archives

Usage policy

