Another dot in the blogosphere?

Google Photos: Pet peeves

Posted on: June 19, 2015

One of the best things about Google Photos is how I can upload a photo to the cloud on one device and see it on another device that is connected to my Google account.

I have been using Google Photos since its launch and this was my previous reflection on it.

The editing tools are quite good. The auto-categorization by time and the image search tools are convenient. But try to manually arrange the sequence of photos so that you can tell your own story and you are stuck.

This is where the web version of Google’s Picasa shines. On a desktop or laptop computer, I can drag and drop single or multiple photos around in organize mode.

But the manually rearranged photos only works for me. When I sequence photos to tell a story, I get something like this:

But when I share the photo album with someone else, they see this:

They are the same photos, but in the wrong order. Google Photos favours chronological order. However, that is not the only way to tell a story. That is not the only way that makes sense.

I hope that Google Photos provides this granularity of control to users like me. We are not lazy or stupid. We want technology to help us create. We also want it to not get in the way.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

