Another dot in the blogosphere?

Moving backwards (Part 3)

Posted on: May 18, 2015

It can be a bit strange walking back into your old place of work. It was for me last week when I visited NIE for two days of intense committee work.

I had not been back for almost 10 months, but things felt familiar. The academic semester was over and the place was pleasantly low traffic. It was wonderful to bump into ex-colleagues and chat with canteen vendors at lunch.

But I could also use the eyes and ears of an outsider and all was not well. For example, I shared yesterday the news of the impending closure of the Classroom of the Future.

I had serious work to do while I was back in NIE. I refused to use the printouts that were prepared without my knowledge. (The work was technology-related and it was certainly not about paper technology.)

One committee member brought his own printouts while the rest of us relied on our devices. I needed wifi to get digital reams from my Dropbox.

That meant requesting for guest access to wifi via an automated service. This was something NIE guests would invariably ask for when they visited the campus. It was and still is a basic need.

It took five hours before the system responded to my request, so I used my phone and my trusty mifi device instead.

As I have written before, you not only need to BYOD, you also need to BYOC [1] [2]. You do this to get things done professionally whether others are going to help or not.

All that said, a five-hour wait is a big step backwards for something as basic as wifi. The hotspots for guests are also limited to certain places in NIE. It did not extend to the meeting room I was in.

I recall stepping into another institute of higher education in 2006 at the invitation of a fellow academic. She asked a question and I replied that I had a resource online that would help.

Thanks to easy access to public wifi that institute had for guests, my sharing went flawlessly. That organization helped itself by helping others.

Later that day in 2006, I met with technical staff who told me that the public wifi was kept securely separate from their corporate wifi. I remember that well because it made a big impression.

I will also remember the five-hour delay for NIE wifi because it seems like a big step backwards. I am as ashamed of this as I am proud of being an ex-staff of the institute. I hope they rectify the situation.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

