Another dot in the blogosphere?

What we should stop pretending about schools

Posted on: April 28, 2015

I was inspired by @mcleod’s “stop pretending” blog entry so I now offer my own five.

We should stop pretending that:

  • schools prepare kids for the real world; ours prepare them for the next test
  • textbook or worksheet examples are authentic
  • teachers learn anything from professional development; they learn when it is personal
  • doing the same things differently makes a difference, e.g., using analogue-only strategies in a digital or blended world
  • e-learning as implemented in schools here is about learning; they are about e-doing

I am also not pretending that my little dot in the blogosphere is going to make a difference. That is why I work with teachers and educators to make a difference, one person at a time.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

