Another dot in the blogosphere?

Reaching out with Creative Commons

Posted on: March 31, 2015

It began with a tweeted request.

I responded by seeing if my dissertation on reflecting with blogs was still online. It was.

I wondered out loud if other universities and libraries took the same initiative to unlock information with Creative Commons (CC).

When I viewed the usage statistics, I discovered that my dissertation had been downloaded 505 times to date.

That is not a huge number or life-changing, but even if my dissertation helped someone do something right (or avoid doing something wrong), I am happy.

That is 505 people that have been helped so far who might have been on the wrong side of a firewall or did not have access to the wonderful library system in my alma mater.

And people still wonder why they should share using a CC licence…

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

