Another dot in the blogosphere?

Closing what was open

Posted on: March 25, 2015

I was happy to be a part of a recent edtech event that promised to make resources available to participants. When asked if I would share my resources, I did not hesitate because that is what I do with all my talks and workshops.

Closed Sign in Yellowstone by bmills, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  bmills 

A week after the event, I received email requesting that participants complete event feedback before getting access to resources.

The organizers are entitled to do this. After all, there are very few truly free meals. But this might be a sign of the creeping back of the old mindset of withholding.

I shared my resources openly on my blog. At my session, I projected URLs on screen and provided participants with stickers with URLs to the resources.

Sharing resources openly and freely sends a more important message than the event itself. An open tool or platform must be used in an open way instead of a closed one. Model and practise closed use and that mindset remains entrenched.

I do not worry about my ideas being stolen because I shared them under a Creative Commons licence (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike). If people abuse it by not acknowledging or crediting, they will be found out and other people will stop listening to them. It will be that obvious and it starts with you being open.

The way to stop a bad cycle is to prevent the wheel from spinning. It is not to add fuel to an engine running on fear and selfishness. It is not to close what is meant to be open.


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

