Another dot in the blogosphere?

Questions are more important than answers

Posted on: March 18, 2015

I have said this before and I will say it again: Questions drive learning, not answers.

I am not saying that you do not learn after you get a question satisfactorily answered. However, what pulls a learner in to seek answers in the first place are questions.

Video source

Do not just take it from me. The inventor of the Rubik’s cube, Ernő Rubik, had this to say:

That’s the problem with old schooling, because they were teaching answers. I believe questions are probably more important today than the answers.

An issue most schools might not realize they have is that they are set up to provide answers to unasked questions. The biggest question is: Why do I need to learn this? For learning to be powerful and meaningful, schools must reorient to be driven by questions.

On a related note, I discovered this in the exit poll of my session at SST’s event on Monday:

Is the time right for workshops on the Pedagogy of Questions?

2 Responses to "Questions are more important than answers"

Victoria Teo: RT @ashley: Questions more important than answers via


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

