Another dot in the blogosphere?

Tour guide or shepherd

Posted on: February 5, 2015

When selecting conferences to attend, I prefer to visit a city and/or country I have not been to before. If I can, I bracket the session I am involved in with a bit of time on each side to explore the city.

I prefer to be my own tour guide when I travel. I book my own flights, arrange my own transport, and customize my own itinerary.

Map and Compass by Inky Bob, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License   by  Inky Bob 

 
When I help schools with educational technology or managing ICT-mediated change, I try to do the same as a tour guide or shepherd.

The courses, workshops, or experiences I provide are like custom tours. I ask school leaders and teachers where they want to go and what they want to see. I suggest an itinerary and we negotiate.

Alternatively, I operate as a shepherd who is called in to monitor progress at strategic intervals. I help to plan, observe, critique, or evaluate. Then I nudge my flock to places they need to go.

2 Responses to "Tour guide or shepherd"

[…] Tour guide or shepherd (ashleytan.wordpress.com) I prefer to be my own tour guide when I travel. I book my own flights, arrange my own transport, and customize my own itinerary. + When I help schools with educational technology or managing ICT-mediated change, I try to do the same as a tour guide or shepherd. […]

Like

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

