Another dot in the blogosphere?

A meaningful birthday present

Posted on: January 22, 2015

I am a year older today.

It was one of the few birthdays I marked without loved ones beside me. I am away in London to deliver a short talk at Bett 2015 tomorrow.

Before I left, my wife bought me a pair of Bose QC25 noise-cancelling headphones as an early birthday present. It was so early that I received it at Christmas last year!



The headphones have already helped me immensely.

They shut noise out so that I could think while I was out and about. They dampened the sound of a funeral downstairs while I was drafting this entry in advance of my trip.

They neutralized the ambient sounds on my flight to London so that I could create a cocoon of comfort.

The silence gave me pause for thought. Did I have to shut the sounds of the analogue world so that I could create content for the digital one? Was I favouring one world for the other?

Perhaps. When I need laser-like focus, I do what I can to provide an environment in which to concentrate. But when I meet people in person, I provide that same focus too, sans headphones.

I am planning to meet and will have already met folks here in the UK. The appointments were made because I have a social media presence and because they know me from what I create online. So there is no false dichotomy of digital versus analogue; one process leads to the other.

2 Responses to "A meaningful birthday present"

Happy Birthday to you Ashley! Hope you have a wonderful year ahead!


Thank you for the birthday wish!


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

