Another dot in the blogosphere?

How much BYOC data?

Posted on: January 8, 2015

When I conduct workshops or do talks, I often bring my own Internet connection with a mifi device. 

When I had the presence of mind, I took note of how data I consumed. 

I estimated the amount of data by comparing the before and after quota of my prepaid 4G SIM account from M1.

My talks are interactive and I rely on Google Slides. But these sessions rarely extend beyond an hour and do not require as much data. 

My workshops last about three hours and rely on more media-rich resources. But I save on data consumption by making local versions of online videos. 

I share this as a reminder to myself and as a tip for others roughly how much data to set aside when bringing your own connection while providing professional development with others.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

