Another dot in the blogosphere?

Ready or prepared?

Posted on: November 27, 2014

Several weeks ago, I was asked to deliver a 15-minute keynote at an informal event. The event was so informal that an organizer forgot to ask me to speak.

I did not get to share some important ideas at that occasion even though I had put a lot of thought and effort into providing a thought-provoking session.

Rather than be disappointed, I wondered if I could apply my keynote strategy at another occasion.

resurrection by GoShiva, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License   by  GoShiva 

It only took two weeks for serendipity to knock on my door. I was invited to speak at a more formal occasion and for a longer time. The topic was also open enough for me to test a new opening story and the strategy.

I was glad that I took the opportunity because it got an otherwise passive audience emotionally and cognitively invested in the experience.

I like reminding people that it is better to be prepared than to try to be ready with technology-mediated change.

It is nearly impossible to be ready because the technology evolves, the circumstances change, the strategy grows, or the content becomes irrelevant by the time people think they are ready.

While readiness is a function of skillset and knowledge, preparedness is more a function of mindset and attitude.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

