Another dot in the blogosphere?

Choose your battles

Posted on: October 25, 2014

I am not sure why, but a 14-year-old memory popped in my head recently.

I was pursuing a Masters in the USA at that time and many of my peers had met a Singaporean (and maybe even a foreigner) for the first time.

epic battle by demandaj, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License   by  demandaj 

One of my group mates insisted that Singapore was in China. She said that her father travelled a lot and told her that was the case. I asked her who she would rather believe: Her father who had travelled the region or a person who was born and bred there?

She just gave me a look and asked me if I was sure.

There was no convincing her. If Google Earth or Maps was around then, I could have shown her immediately. But even then, she might have objected.

There are some people who are not worth trying to convince or change. They will demoralize you and dig in further. Pick your battles, find some other way in, or go for someone else.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

