Another dot in the blogosphere?

Getting a Nifty solution

Posted on: October 23, 2014

I finally got my hands on a tiny peripheral that sits in the shallow SD card slot of my Macbook Air.

It is called a Nifty Minidrive and it is an adapter for a microSD card. It is also a solution to needless problems that Apple created.

The MB Air has a solid state drive (SSD). These save space and are very fast, but they are costly. So Airs do not come with much storage space.

Instead of carrying an external drive around, you can insert a high-capacity SD card into a slot. But Apple makes the slots so shallow that part of a normal SD card sticks out.

The Nifty Minidrive allows you to insert a microSD card into it and then insert the whole thing into the SD slot so that it blends into the laptop. It is elegant and seamless.

I had wanted a Nifty Minidrive since it was a Kickstarter project in 2012. But the product availability and distribution was limited.

It would not ship from Amazon without a US address. I emailed a local distributor when one was finally listed at the Nifty website, but no one replied.

I finally took to Twitter and received a reply from Nifty within days. I asked how I could get one and provided a copy of the email I sent. I received a reply shortly after.

A few days later, I received an email from the local distributor telling me where I might find it in a local store. But not before Nifty on Twitter had already told me where to look.

I emailed the local store, but like the local distributor, they did not reply. I made the trip anyway and was fortunate that the item was available.

What are the morals of this story?

  1. There are solutions out there to problems you have in here. You only have to look. But strangely enough, the people immediately around you might not be responsive, willing, or able to help. These days, instead of intermediaries, you can connect directly with the source, experts, or gatekeepers of the information you need.
  2. Organizations, especially the ones here, like having websites with contact information and forms. More often than not, these are only for show instead of sincere intent. Some groups also make a show of social media channels and apply old school rules of one-way dissemination instead of two-way communication and multichannel socialization.

There is a lesson for learners of all sorts in the first moral and a lesson for teachers in the second.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

