Another dot in the blogosphere?

Tweet-based technical support?

Posted on: October 19, 2014

Is it possible to offer technical support in 140 characters? It might be.

Recently I had to find solutions to two technical issues.

I upgraded by iPad mini to iOS 8 (and left my iPhone on iOS 7 to keep it jailbroken). The upgrade prevented me from connecting to my VPN service.

I tried restarting the device and making sure that the input fields were correct. Here is what worked.

I had also activated two factor authentication (2FA) on my Google account a while ago. I did not realize that it would prevent the YouTube app in my Apple TV from working. After a quick search, I discovered a simple solution.

Offering these technical tips without hashtagging them almost seemed pointless. Twitter dashboard tells me my tweets get 30,000 views per day, but that does not mean I am offering anyone anything of value. So why did I do it?

I only realized why after the fact. I was responding to someone who claimed that 140 characters prevented effective communication.

The essence of solutions to problems can be shown in text, images, links, audio, or videos in tweets. Brevity is not opposed to clarity.

The brevity of tweets might lead to loss of context and rationale. But you can post multiple tweets and be succinct about it. You might also rely on long form like this blog to get the best of both worlds.

It is about finding a way with whatever cards you are dealt with.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

