Another dot in the blogosphere?

Numerically speaking

Posted on: September 28, 2014

This blog normally get a spike of views during or right after conferences. So I expected this week’s spike to be related to the my talk and panel at Educon Asia’s 6th Higher Education Summit.

Instead, something I reflected on two weeks ago took top spot this week and cause the spike, The pedagogy of Twitter chats.

It takes just a handful of tweets from a few regular readers of this blog to draw in the normal numbers. At last count, that blog entry had 21 tweets. Obvious cause and effect.

It has also been a month since I have started monitoring my Twitter dashboard.

The small rises seem to be associated with tweet chats I participate in.

I have a Twitter-based reach of about 27,000 to 28,000 per day. The day seems to be optimized to US time and it is tempting to repost tweets to suit that time zone.

I have already noticed that readers of my blog originate from the US when I check the blog stats in the morning. Later in the day, the readership shifts to Singapore and the region.

But the anglosphere is already saturated with edubloggers. Perhaps I should just focus on what I can do here.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

