Another dot in the blogosphere?

Different strokes from different folks

Posted on: September 27, 2014

It has been an interesting two months for me as an independent consultant.

I have met an assortment of people online and in person. Most are nice and a few are just rude. But all have these three things in common.

One, they need pedagogical guidance. They are passionate and savvy, but they are rarely able to justify the foundations upon which they build their work.

Two, they want something for free or on the cheap. Like it or not, you get what you pay for. I have met the penny-wise but pound-foolish. They will end up with something that will cost them more in the long term.

Three, after I spend some time listening and responding to them, I often get a look that I can only describe as the late Gary Coleman’s semi-accusatory “Whatcha talkin’ about, Willis?”

That happens when I have spotted weakness in their foundations or gaps in their plans, or when they realize that not all advice comes for free.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

