Another dot in the blogosphere?

Workshop roller coasters

Posted on: August 7, 2014

Corkscrew Roller Coaster by Vlastula, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License   by  Vlastula 

My workshops are like roller coasters. By this I mean the rides I design for my participants and the feelings I generate.

I take the the work in workshops seriously. I believe that for people to learn they must not just do, they must work actively and meaningfully. So I challenge workshop participants to teach, create, destroy, and rebuild.

This leaves them experiencing highs and lows, twists and turns. The lows might be the frustrations in the form of obstacles or problems; the highs are the a-ha moments or the positive feedback they get from their peers. But when they think the get something, they question what they know at the next turn.

Even though it sounds unpleasant, there is a simultaneous rush and relief at the end of the ride. The best part is the feedback: It was over too fast. Can I go again?

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

