Another dot in the blogosphere?


Posted on: August 6, 2014

When Singapore rolled out its first Wireless@SG initiative to provide free wifi to the masses, it was described by someone I know as very secure. It was so secure that very few people could actually log in.


When I facilitate my workshops at various institutes, I rely on my own Wireless@Workshops thanks to my mifi device.

The device not only helps me access Google Edu Apps and Edmodo, it also helps me present wirelessly in two ways.

As I no longer own a remote presenter, I use an app, Unified Remote (UR), to control my computer or flip Google Slides with my iPhone.

I can also run the presentation off my iPhone or iPad and showcase apps with the help of AirServer. I wirelessly mirror my mobile screen onto my computer which is connected to a projector.

The AirServer and UR server applications run in the background on my MacBook Air and communicate with my handheld devices over my mifi wireless network.

This allows me to walk among the participants instead of being rooted to one spot. Even though those parts of the workshop are presentation-centric, this sends yet another subtle message that you can do things a bit differently to connect with people.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

