Another dot in the blogosphere?

Newbies on target with flipping

Posted on: July 28, 2014

Last week I conducted a focus group interview of a group of seven higher education instructors who were not familiar with the flipped classroom or flipped learning. I did this to get to know them before I facilitate workshops for them and their colleagues in a few weeks time. I picked up some useful information that will help me prepare for the workshops. I was also very impressed by their responses.

One of my questions was: What do you think “flipped learning” means?

The responses I received were:

  • The student tells teacher concepts
  • Learning on the job instead of just in class
  • Learner decides what to learn and is self-directed
  • On demand learning
  • Ownership of learning

There was no hint or mention of the consumption of content out of class and the practice or discussion in class, i.e., the usual definition of flipping.

I was impressed because they were focusing on the right things about flipping. They may have been more descriptive (what it is) instead of being prescriptive (how to do it), but that was fine. After all, they had not tried flipping before.

If after I am done with my primer on flipping with them they still keep these concepts central to their practice, they will go very far in changing their pedagogy for the better!

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

