Another dot in the blogosphere?

Out with the old

Posted on: July 15, 2014

One of my favourite sayings is: Nostalgia is like grammar. It makes the past perfect and the present tense.

Eight years ago this week, I had a freshly minted Ph.D. and was getting ready to start my journey as a faculty member of a university.

Fast forward to this week and I was clearing out my office and looking forward to the next phase of my journey.

I am a selective packrat when it comes to keeping things of sentimental value. I brought all my Ph.D. notes and dissertation documents with me from the USA. The photo below shows what a Ph.D. might look like only in terms of files and necessary documents.

I attached a lot of nostalgia to these inanimate objects even though they served no practical purpose. I never referred to them when I returned to Singapore and they took up space in a cupboard. But they helped me remember the arduous doctoral journey and my life overseas.

Now I have this digital photo to help me wax nostalgic. The files and other items are now in a recycling skip. I hope that my recycled material helps someone else make their own memories.

I have forged more experiences and memories over the last eight years and I have photographed quite a few of them. I plan on being less of a packrat in future. It is surprising what builds up over time when you take the time to look. It is almost as surprising how easy it is to get rid of artefacts that are not important.

Now I have to get rid of my conference lanyards and noticeboard paraphernalia…

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

