Another dot in the blogosphere?

Poignant, not sad!

Posted on: June 30, 2014

Video source

I received feedback online and in person that I made CeL version of the “Happy” video sad at the end.

In true Singaporean fashion, my response was: Sad, meh?

It was designed to be poignant. After all, I was ending my CeL Monday video series after almost a year of experimenting with it. I was also leaving as Head of CeL after four years of leading it.

Today marks the end of my appointment as Head. So I think I had a right to make the video end that way. It is not an entirely sad note, but a happy one. The department is proud of what it has achieved over the last few years and I am proud to have been part of it.

I should repeat what I say to all the middle managers and leaders who take my MLS125 course: Often when leaders leave, many initiatives die or go with them. The only thing you can really leave behind is people who have changed for the better.

Where there used to be a group that knew the meaning of hard work, there is now a group that also knows how to adapt, to take the initiative and ownership, to think and act more broadly, and to be loyal.

I have shaped that culture and belief system, so I have no regrets. I am happy.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

