Another dot in the blogosphere?

How has your classroom changed?

Posted on: June 17, 2014

I visited the National Museum while I was in Denmark. There was a Children’s Museum wing for kids to experience what it was like to be a Viking or live in medieval Denmark.

There was also an old classroom and these kids decided to role play in it. One pretended to be a teacher while the rest were students. Despite the place looking like something out of the 19th century, the kids fit right in.

This is very similar to a story I tell at some talks I give. I end with a declaration that we have 21st century students being taught by 20th century teachers in 19th century classrooms.

Sad to say that it always draws embarrassed laughs or agreement by nodding of heads. I am sadder to say that I can probably keep saying this for quite a few years and I will get the same responses.

Whatever I do next in life, I aim on not being able to tell that story for long.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

