Another dot in the blogosphere?

Getting connected in Denmark

Posted on: June 12, 2014

I am continuing what I started sharing about getting prepaid data SIMs in Sweden. Today I share my experience in Denmark with Lebara and Oister.

Here are the bare essentials. DKK is the Danish kroner (one SGD is roughly about four DKK).


  • SIM is 49 DKK in convenience stores
  • 1 month: 1 GB, 50 DKK
  • APN: internet
  • Calls and SMS by default, data needs to be activated


  • SIM starter kit is 99 DKK in select stores
  • 7 days: 10 GB (cost included with starter pack)
  • APN:
  • This is a data only SIM

Travellers have reported being able to buy prepaid SIMs at Copenhagen airport (CPH) at stores at Terminal 3. If you opt to do this, head for anything that resembles a 7-11 and ask.

I opted to wait until I arrived at Copenhagen Central train station. The 7-11 stores there sell Lebara SIMs and there was a Telia store there.

The Telia store representative I spoke to told me they had no prepaid SIMs and to ask at the 7-11s that dotted the station. When I tried to get more information (like where the next nearest store was), he practically shooed me out with his favorite phrase, 7-11.

Ta-at, Telia. If you do not need me, I do not need you!


A traveller provided good details at this travel forum about Lebara. Prepaid SIMs and data top ups are available at 7-11s and any convenience store that displays Lebara on its windows or walls. I was fortunate that Lebara set up a booth outside a 7-11 the very day I was there.

If you go with Lebara, you must buy a SIM pack and data separately. The SIM and 1GB of data cost me 99 DKK. This is not a bad deal for up to 30 days of calls, SMS, and 3G data access.

The SIM came in normal, micro, and nano sizes. However, not all stores will have the entire range. In Billund, only micro SIMs were available at a Netto store. But you will likely be spoilt for choice at a 7-11 in Copenhagen.

The data for the nano SIM I brought had to be activated over the phone. If you do not do this, you only have a calling and SMS device. First you have to call 5010-1234, press 3 and then 2 to switch to English. Thankfully the system remembers this setting. You listen to voice prompts to key in two codes. The codes are printed on a receipt when you purchase top up amounts at convenience stores. You might also get the same instructions in Danish and English on the receipt.

The SIM worked brilliantly in my mifi device without me having to change any settings. I was able to share Internet access to all the devices we brought.

But here is the kick: You are stuck with whichever plan you choose for at least 30 days. This might not seem to be an issue because you are not likely to be in the country for that long. However, you might use your quota before 30 days.

I thought that adding more credit would keep the data connection alive. I also wanted to go on a higher data plan (2 or 5 GB). But the system informed me by SMS that I could not do either. To change to a new plan, I had to wait till the old one was over.

I used the hotel’s weak wifi to find out that I could try calling tech support for help to change plans. I was informed over the phone that I had to buy another SIM for 49 DKK, call back, and get the credit transferred to the new SIM. Once I had the new SIM and transferred credit, I could stay on the same plan or choose a new one.

This made no sense from a customer’s point of view (I already had a valid SIM and more than enough credit) but I can see how this makes financial sense to Lebara.


Once bitten, twice shy. I looked for alternatives and found Oister. The details of its offerings are in English here.

The short version: You pay 99 DKK for a starter SIM pack. You get 10GB of data over one week. Yes, 10GB, but for data only. No calls or SMS. But you can get around this with apps.

There is a catch if you have a device that needs a nano SIM. Oister only provides normal and micro SIMs. You have to bring your own SIM cutter or pay enterprising store owners 10 DKK to have a micro cut down to a nano.

The deal breaker might be the fact that the SIM is PIN-protected. You must type a four-digit PIN provided in the starter kit after restarting your phone. If you already protect your phone with a PIN, you must type in both PINs, one after another.

There are two cards in the starter pack. The first is a scratch card (with SIM) that provides the SIM PIN and another number whose function is not obvious. You might think it is a secondary confirmation code, but it is not. A helpful store staff told me if was for resetting the PIN should you forget what it was. I did not test this feature out.

There is another card with a much longer number. That is the activation code you use at this page. You type in your SIM card “phone” number in the first two boxes and the activation code in the third box.

These complexities prevented the SIM from being used in my mifi device. This was despite the fact that I deactivated the SIM PIN and manually included the APN.

Oister might be able to provide 4G access in places like Copenhagen, but the further out you go, the less reliable the service. I travelled to Billund by train and coach, more than 250km away from Copenhagen. The service was so unpredictable that I could much sooner win a coin toss than get Internet access.

There are other prepaid SIM providers in Denmark of course. However, they do not offer as much data as Oister nor are they as easy to find as Lebara.

14 Responses to "Getting connected in Denmark"

Hi Dr Tan, Thanks for your BLOG. What’s your experience (if any) using a prepaid SIM in both Denmark and Sweden. We are going within a few days, landing in Denmark first, then crossing to Sweden. Would like to buy a prepaid SIM in Denmark and use in both Denmark & Sweden, possible or hopeless?
Cheers, Con


Hi Con,

Not hopeless, but might be difficult. I recall going to a SIM provider (might have been Three) and asking for a SIM I could buy in Denmark and use there and in Sweden.

I think this was for residents with local addresses only. I had to provide proof of residency, which I could not as a visitor. If you know a Dane, you could make this arrangement. Might take a while though and I don’t know if the policy is still in place.

I resorted to using different SIMs. They’re easy to get at corner stores and train stations.

If it helps, I’ve also shared how I got connected in Sweden.

All the best for your trip. Please share what you find so everyone knows better!🙂



Hi, back from Denmark & Sweden. As it turns out I went into shopping malls in both Denmark & Sweden and went straight to the Telia shop, and bought prepaid SIM cards. In Denmark I bought one for 78 Danish Kroner which was valid for a week, and in Sweden I bought one for 299 SEK which was valid for a month. Both cards worked fine and you do need one for each country because roaming eats up your credit quickly.


Thanks for sharing what you did and found with regards to SIMs. Hope that you had a great trip! I know I did.🙂


Hi! May I ask if there is a shop at the copenhagen airport that sells Oister? Thanks!


I did not spend enough time at the airport to find out. You might check their website out for possible locations.


Is there not a sim card that works for all Europe? And can it not be bought in the Copenhagen airport? Do you know if T-Mobile works in the EU?


I am not aware of any one SIM card that works across all of Europe, presumably one that works across all operators without roaming charges.

Three (3) does have a system that works across a few countries there, but I do not know of one that spans the continent.

T-Mobile should work in EU with roaming, but that would likely be expensive. Better to pick up a local SIM or find out if your provider has a scheme for usage plans overseas.


Hi all just been reading the blog as I am trying to organise 4G MiFi for my work in Denmark. I am from the uk and my network provider is T mobile ( formerley Orange) When I arrive
Monday mornings my phone connects to Telia and I get the message (Welcome to Sweden) Yes I know I am in Copenhagen. ” Calls in Sweden are included in your monthly plan as are SMS . When I drive up to Kalundborg I get the same message but with welcome to Denmark. I have checked my phone invoice and all of my calls and SMS messages have been free ( or at least included in my monthly plan) So ( at least in the U.K.) it is possible to have a sim that works in Denmark , Sweden and the U.K. Without roaming charges. ( I turn roaming off on arrival at Kastrup) Just thought this may be of interest . BR George


Hey!! Have you had any experience with One Simcard, bought in Denmark. Apparently it allows you to use it in many other European countries and is specifically designed for travellers.
Thanks 😊


Did you use Lebara’s roaming plan or know if their roaming plan is good if I am planning to do trips occasionally to other parts of europe? Also, does Lebara only use the credits you have? Like if I got the roaming from Lebara and it used up all my credits, would it just cut off my service?


I am afraid I do not have current or reliable information about roaming plans.

As for running low or out of credits, you should get SMS notifying you of this.

It’s best to get current info online and/or confirm it in person at a major retail store once you are there.


Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

