Another dot in the blogosphere?

Reach to teach

Posted on: May 28, 2014

This is my concluding slide in a plenary talk I am giving for the Policy, Governance and Capacity Building teachers’ conference in the Philippines. By the time you read this, I will be enroute to Manila. After a good night’s rest, I present tomorrow afternoon before flying back later that evening.

My concluding message to the Filipino teachers is that they must understand their students, learn from them, and even be like them before they can begin to teach them.

I still think that talks are necessary evils. They may be good at creating awareness and inspiring people, but they are not good at ensuring meaningful learning or sustained action. Talks are like hit-and-runs in that sense.

What matters is the aftercare. Often the ones hit are left to their own devices. Sometimes they are given some form of support or guidance. Rarely is this support or guidance sustained.

It is not enough to reach out to people for change. They may find your message inspiring and buy in. Ideally they take ownership of the change processes.

But I have found that if you are not there over a sustained period, the change efforts peter out. You must also be there to nurture and teach. That is what I am basing my consulting services on once I leave NIE.

Leave a Reply

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets


Usage policy

