Another dot in the blogosphere?

Search, create, share, curate

Posted on: January 7, 2011

In 2010, there was a movement of sorts on which three words summed up your passions or focus areas for the year.

It’s one year on so I have four words, but they are not just for me. I think that the four words (search, create, share, curate) are overall patterns on the way we learn online.

Search is practically synonymous with Google. Need to find out something you know nothing about? Google it. I recall how someone asked me about the “throw ratio” of projectors. While I could guess, I decided to Google with my iPhone, triangulate my findings and show the good answers.

If you want something to stick in mind or in place, you need to create one or more artefacts. When I learnt how to “hack” my Wii to run games from a harddisk or access secure wireless on an iOS device, I put the information a wiki. When I learnt about the Green School, I took photos, videos and blogged about it [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]. You need to share what you learn to refine it or to teach it.

What might be a smaller blip on the radar of e-learning is the need to curate. A curator collects, selects, maintains and makes sense of content. Social bookmarking with Diigo is an example of digital curation (and sharing if you wish). Quora is a more recent example and various techie blogs predict this service will explode in 2011.

We might do some or all of these things naturally while learning. We just don’t think about it. But it becomes necessary to rethink these processes as we extend the capacity our minds (and maybe our hearts) with the help of these tools. That way we are not only cognizant of the learning processes but also taking full and proper advantage of the resources at our disposal.

3 Responses to "Search, create, share, curate"

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ashley Tan. Ashley Tan said: Search, create, share, curate http://bit.ly/fexi5W […]

Like

Many of us mainl search, create and share. I could not recall we ‘curate’ that often. Unless the content or topics appeal to us personally.

Like

Agreed.

I think we curate mentally all the time. We decide what is worth remembering or using and keep that in mind. We remove what we think is irrelevant.

Digital curation, on the other hand, takes some discipline. It forces you to place value on some artefact and then take the trouble to tag it not just for yourself but for the benefit of others. It’s not just what goes on in your mind but what does on in the hive mind.

Like

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code


Get a mobile QR code app to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

