Another dot in the blogosphere?

What is your real Klout?

Posted on: May 19, 2012

I was only reminded that I had a Klout score when @shamsensei tweeted this:

I had heard of Klout but was never very interested in it. Why? Steve Wheeler’s recent critique of these scores says it all.

I was surprised to learn my Klout score. According to Wheeler, the average Klout score is 20. Mine is 52, so I should be over the moon, right? Not really.

I have mentioned previously that I do not like playing the numbers game. This is another good example why. What does “52” mean? What does comparing “52” with “20” mean? What does it ultimately mean in terms of real life clout?

Klout tries to quantify reputation and influence. It even tries to provide those numbers in contexts or spheres of influence.

It assumes that people are impressed by numbers. This is true to some extent because that is how most folks have been conditioned, e.g., grades, ranking, salary.

But I do not blog or tweet with numbers in mind. If I did, I might obsess over the wrong thing. I am not a celebrity or a marketer who needs to worry about numbers.

No, numbers do not tell the whole story. There is no number when a light bulb finally goes off over a learner’s head. There is no number when he or she writes you a heartfelt letter of thanks.

A number might hint that you are making a difference. But only your conscience will tell you whether you really have any clout.

Tags:

1 Response to "What is your real Klout?"

[...] What is your real Klout? (ashleytan.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

QRCode
Get a QR code reader to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

