Another dot in the blogosphere?

Why I don’t play the numbers game

Posted on: May 10, 2012

If you play the numbers game, you could be a gambler. You could also be a person who makes decisions only on quantitative data.

This blog reflection is about being the latter and I am not one of those people. If I was, I would not block folks on Twitter who follow me for the wrong reasons. (For the record, I am not a gambler either!)

A short time ago, I checked my Edmodo profile. It stated that I had only eight students. That is not true, of course.

My co-learners are student teachers, inservice teachers, or other adult participants of my workshops. I tell my “students” to sign up for teacher accounts. I only have actual student accounts for testing or if my participants create a teacher and a student account.

Those who play the numbers game might view the process as a popularity contest. Everything should not be viewed from that lens.

Numbers do not or cannot measure everything. My Edmodo profile does not indicate the true number of co-learners or the quality of learning.

If I let anyone follow me on Twitter, I would deceive the educators or para educators who follow me. I would also disappoint the folks who think that I am a celebrity, soccer player, or other Ashley.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

QRCode
Get a QR code reader to figure out what this means!

My tweets

Archives

Usage policy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

