Another dot in the blogosphere?

Old school is no school for me

Posted on: March 28, 2012

Sometimes I get asked to give talks at seminars. I have a standard reply: I try not to give talks because not everyone is ready to listen.

Recently, I was asked to give a talk on game-based learning for an ICT seminar at a local institute. As my schedule was packed, I suggested that they watch my TED talk and we could video conference if needed. The organizers preferred that I be physically present.

I pointed out that the seminar was supposed to be about the power of ICT in education and that we would be using ICT while talking about ICT-mediated strategies. The organizers did not relent, nor did I.

I do not believe in giving only talks about ICT. I prefer workshops where we can uncover the whys, hows, and so whats of ICT, roughly in that order. A seminar is not the best way to do this.

So if any of the organizers read this, know that I said no on principle. And thank you for reminding me why I stick to my guns.

Leave a Reply

http://edublogawards.com/files/2012/11/finalistlifetime-1lds82x.png
http://edublogawards.com/2010awards/best-elearning-corporate-education-edublog-2010/

Click to see all the nominees!

QR code

QRCode
Get a QR code reader to figure out what this means!

My tweets

  • RT @googledrive: New today in Google Forms - customizable themes & new pre-made survey designs goo.gl/zKfpJr #edsg 4 hours ago
  • Gosh, what a reality check when I compare actual participants in #edsg with lurkers in my Twitter analytics dashboard. 7 hours ago
  • @hsiao_yun There's even more effort required when it's online like #edsg. It's so easy to ignore or walk away. 7 hours ago
  • It's almost 10pm. Keep your ideas coming on global connections/connected classrooms the rest of the week if you're inspired #edsg 7 hours ago
  • @hsiao_yun Compare that to what happens now in platforms like Twitter. Twitch speed. Like bacteria multiplying & dying in an instant #edsg 7 hours ago

Archives

Usage policy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

